39.7 F
Friday, March 31, 2023
FairfaxVolunteer Fire Commission bestows awards

Volunteer Fire Commission bestows awards

Must Read

Fairfax County Volunteer Fire Commission on Oct. 6 honored recipients of the 2020 Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Awards during a ceremony at Fairfax County Public Safety Headquarters.

Officials commended the honorees, who serve at various volunteer fire-and-rescue departments in Fairfax County, for their contributions to the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department (FCFRD) and the communities they serve.

Each honoree demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the FCFRD through hundreds of hours providing fire and emergency medical services or through other roles that support the department’s goals, officials said. Fire Chief John Butler was on hand to congratulate each award winner.
The awards and their winners were:

• Volunteer Firefighter: Dylan Bates of the Baileys Crossroads Volunteer Fire Department.


• Volunteer Operational Officer: Sean Jolliff of the Vienna Volunteer Fire Department.

• Volunteer Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Provider: Alieen Bay of the Vienna Volunteer Fire Department.

• Volunteer Advanced Life Support (ALS) Provider: Frank Smith of the Great Falls Volunteer Fire Department.

• Volunteer Basic Life Support (BLS) Provider: Scott Sterling of the Fair Oaks Volunteer Fire and Rescue Company.

• Administrative Member: Christian Kassis of the Centreville Volunteer Fire Department.

• Canteen or Auxiliary Member: John Jackson of the Greater Springfield Volunteer Fire Department.

• Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Member: James McPheeters.

• Special Recognition Award: James Hedrick of the Fire and Rescue Academy.

• Volunteer Rookie: Noah Bilger of the Burke Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department.

• Volunteer Unit Citation: Mo Ahmed, Dylan Bates, David Presson, Kelsey Robins and Paul Wasserman of the Baileys Crossroads Volunteer Fire Department.

- Advertisement -

Latest News

New School Board member receives liaison assignments

New Arlington School Board member Bethany Sutton has her assignments. School Board members on Feb. 2 are expected to approve...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This