46.8 F
Wednesday, March 22, 2023
ArlingtonSchools & Military, 11/4/21 edition

Schools & Military, 11/4/21 edition

Must Read

News of the achievements of local students and members of the Armed Forces.

** Sarah Boegner of Arlington earned a master of science degree in analytics, David D’lima of Arlington earned a master of science degree in computer science, Scott Roman of Arlington earned a master of science degree in electrical and computer engineering and Carlos Valencia of Arlington earned a master of science degree in computer science during recent commencement exercises at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

** Della Hareland of Arlington has been initiated into the National Intelligence University chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest all-discipline collegiate honor society.

** Two Arlington residents were among more than 60 James Madison University students who participated in Alternative Fall Break, a chance for participants to partner with non-profit agencies during the Oct. 21-23 period.


Charlotte Terry and Elena Ogbe of Arlington spent the period performing service at Carolina Tiger Rescue, located in Pittsboro, N.C.

** The Arlington branch of the NAACP honored its 2021 scholarship recipients at the organization’s annual Freedom Fund banquet, held online Oct. 28.

Recipients of the Willard Woodson Brittain Jr. Foundation Scholarship Award included Abel Geleta (Yale University); Rylei Porter (Belmont University); Takier George (Howard University); Dulanda Saintcyr (Virginia Commonwealth University); Sophia Nowlin (Bowie State University); Dexter Merritt Jr. (University of Maryland, Baltimore County); and Jessica Pressley (Loyola University).

Recipients of the Arlington NAACP Future Leaders Scholarship Award were Joana Agboka (Virginia Commonwealth University); Chelsea Figaro (North Carolina A&T University); Alexander Hall (University of Virginia); Elena Ogbe (James Madison University); and Belen Tesfaye (Northeastern University.

Arlington NAACP one-time scholarship awards were presented to Celeste Clark (Duke University) and Kira Harrison (Virginia Tech).

** The Virginia Association for Driver Education and Traffic Safety has named Wakefield High School’s Tony Bentley the Behind the Wheel Teacher of the Year.

The announcement was made at the state meeting, held online on Oct. 1, which featured 140 driver-education teachers and representatives from the Virginia Department of Education.

Bentley was nominated for his dedication to students, and for how he made sure they remained engaged when in-person classes were paused.

“Mr. Bentley recognizes how important it is for a teen to be able to drive and drive safely. He always explains that this privilege opens independence, freedom and many opportunities that need to be respected,” said Debbie DeFranco, supervisor of health and physical education for Arlington Public Schools.

“Mr. Bentley not only teaches safety behind the wheel, but also important life lessons,” DeFranco said.

Parents said they are appreciative of the time he spends with students.
“Mr. Bentley is a mentor, and my son as a driving student was enthusiastic about each driving session,” one parent said.

“I hold Mr. Bentley in high regard,” the parent said. “He represents the very best of what an educator should be. He doesn’t just ‘punch the clock’ – he cares about the community of students he serves. Mr. Bentley is the benchmark for professionalism and experience.”

Bentley, who also serves as head coach of the Wakefield High School varsity boys basketball team, will receive admission and a free hotel stay at next year’s meeting of the Virginia Association for Driver Education and Traffic Safety, which provides professional development to driving instructors.

** A new initiative aims to provide support for students at Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School who may be struggling with reading skills.

Sliding Doors has partnered with the Arlington branch of the NAACP and Virginia Tech’s STEM and Workforce Labs to launch the Dyslexic Edge Academy, starting with a small cohort of students.

Students in the two-year program will meet after school for 90 minutes twice per week, receiving tutoring and participating in STEM-based activities.

The effort aims to provide the resources necessary to close wide disparities in reading proficiency, and is part of the NAACP’s efforts to address dyslexia in an effort to provide all students a road map to success.

Among those participating in a kickoff event were Arlington NAACP president Julius “J.D.” Spain Sr.; Arlington NAACP second vice president and education committee co-chair Sherrice Kerns; Arlington NAACP education committee co-chair Symone Walker; Sliding Doors tutoring director Joyce Maryanopolis; Sliding Doors executive director Krista Gauthier; and Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School principal Tracy Gaither.

- Advertisement -

Latest News

New School Board member receives liaison assignments

New Arlington School Board member Bethany Sutton has her assignments. School Board members on Feb. 2 are expected to approve...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This